Price per words is commonly used by the translation industry.

Est le prix par mot modèle de tarification trop Simple et injuste pour les traductions?

Price per words is commonly used by the translation industry.Translators and translation agencies often use price per word as their pricing model. This means that they set their price based on the amount of words in the original document. Pricing based on words is a very simple pricing method but it can be also an unfair and unrealistic one.

Il ya beaucoup de traducteurs qui ont passé plus de temps sur un projet qu'ils ont initialement prévu. Prix par mot méthode de tarification ne prendra pas ces éléments en considération assez bien:

  • Certains textes sont complexe et court tandis que d'autres sont simple et à long.
  • Certaines langues utilisent plus de mots que d'autres à dire la même chose.
  • Certains sujets ont plus vocabulaire difficile et des conditions que les autres sujets.
  • Certains types de texte ont besoin de plus style poli que d'autres.
  • Certains travaux de traduction souhaitée avec technologie non familier.
  • Certains petits Articles comme les articles et les prépositions affectent le nombre de mots dans certaines langues. (Par exemple, « Nous sommes assis dans la voiture » a seulement 2 Mots en finnois: « Istumme autossa ».)

Prix sont tout à propos de psychologie. Prix agit également comme un indicateur de la difficulté ou la qualité de l'emploi. Livraison trop rapide fait le client pense qu'ils ont payé trop cher pour une telle tâche simple. Livraison trop lent en revanche peut être un signe d'un traducteur professionnel ou d'un client sans importance. Ces hypothèses et interprétations peuvent ou peuvent ne pas être rationnelles. Cependant, ils sont désagréables à coup sûr. Parce que la citation définit ces attentes, il doit être correct et refléter la réalité.

Parfois les traducteurs se plaignent de clients qui tentent de négocier leurs prix. Mais il est bon de garder à l'esprit qu'il n'y a toujours une alternative. On peut choisir de gauche non traduites ou utiliser la traduction automatique ou trouver un étudiant linguistique pour faire le travail pour moins d'argent. Si le client potentiel pense que la citation est injuste il ne sera pas l'accepter.

Le problème est qu'il faut de temps pour un traducteur faire un devis qui refléterait la charge de travail réelle. En passant par le matériel et l'analyse de combien il est difficile à traduire peuvent prendre beaucoup de temps, surtout si le projet est grand. De plus,, tout cet effort devra être fait avant tout contrat ou accord. Tout cela peut se transformer en coûts irrécupérables. Le temps passé sur quelque chose est toujours loin de quelque chose d'autre.

Prix par mot est un modèle de tarification simple, mais il n'est pas parfait. Nombre de mots est facile à obtenir, mais il dit très peu de choses sur le texte. Le modèle de tarification autre couramment utilisé, prix par heure, n'est pas mieux soit. Il est facile de sous- ou surestimer le temps ainsi que de difficultés ou de taille. Mots sont faciles à calculer, mais tous les mots ne sont pas égaux.

Qu'en penses-tu? Est un modèle de tarification injuste-prix par mot?

 

Si une machine peut le faire facilement, un traducteur ne peut donc. MT-Qualifier gives you the best machine translations together with quality scores. Utilisez-le pour post-édition, cite de fabrication ou de l'analyse et de gagner du temps! En savoir plus.

2 Thoughts on"Est le prix par mot modèle de tarification trop Simple et injuste pour les traductions?”

  1. I do think that price per word is often not a good pricing model. Malheureusement, if you work mostly with agencies, that is the way they do it. La seule option ici est de proposer différents tarifs de mot pour les catégories de sujets différents. Cependant, chaque fois que vous avez la possibilité de bien, essayer de donner un prix projet plutôt après avoir analysé le texte (et le nombre de mots). J'ai toujours donner un prix projet pour mes clients directs, par exemple.

  2. Prix par mots peut soit juste ou injuste. Je pense, pour donner le meilleur du travail accompli, Il comprend également une remise d'un prix raisonnable..

Les commentaires sont fermés.

Price per words is commonly used by the translation industry.

Is Price per Word Too Simple and Unfair Pricing Model for Translations?

Price per words is commonly used by the translation industry.Translators and translation agencies often use price per word as their pricing model. This means that they set their price based on the amount of words in the original document. Pricing based on words is a very simple pricing method but it can be also an unfair and unrealistic one.

There are plenty of translators who have spent more time on a project than they originally planned. Price per word pricing method won’t take these items into account well enough:

  • Some texts are complex and short while some others are simple and long.
  • Some languages use more words than others to say the same thing.
  • Some topics have more difficult vocabulary and terms than other topics.
  • Some text types need more polished style than others.
  • Some translation tasks require using unfamiliar technology.
  • Some small items like articles and prepositions affect the word count in some languages. (For example “We are sitting in the car” has only 2 words in Finnish: “Istumme autossa”.)

Pricing is all about psychology. Price acts also as an indicator of the difficulty or quality of the job. Too quick delivery makes the customer think that they paid too much for such a simple task. Too slow delivery on the other hand can be a sign of an unprofessional translator or an unimportant customer. These assumptions and interpretations may or may not be rational. However, they are unpleasant for sure. Because the quote sets such expectations, it should be correct and reflect the reality.

Sometimes translators complain about customers who try to bargain their prices. But it’s good to keep in mind that there is always an alternative. One can choose to left it untranslated or use machine translation or find a linguistic student to do the job for less money. If the potential customer thinks the quote is unfair he won’t accept it.

The problem is that it requires time for a translator to make a quote which would reflect the real work load. Going through the material and analyzing how difficult it is to translate can take a lot of time — especially if the project is large. In addition, all this effort would have to be made before any contract or deal. It all may turn into sunk costs. The time spent on something is always away from some other thing.

Price per word is a simple pricing model but it isn’t perfect. Word count is easy to get but it tells very little about the text. The other commonly used pricing model, price per hour, is not better either. It is easy to under- or overestimate time as well as difficulty or size. Words are easy to calculate but all words aren’t equal.

What do you think? Is price per word an unfair pricing model?

 

If a machine can do it easily, so can a translator. MT-Qualifier gives you the best machine translations together with quality scores. Use it for post-editing, quote making or analyzing and save time! Read more here.

2 thoughts on “Is Price per Word Too Simple and Unfair Pricing Model for Translations?”

  1. I do think that price per word is often not a good pricing model. Unfortunately, if you work mostly with agencies, that is the way they do it. The only option here is to suggest different per word prices for different subject categories. However, whenever you have the option though, try to give a project price instead after having analyzed the text (and word count). I always give a project price for my direct clients, for example.

  2. Price per words may either fair or unfair. I guess, to give the best of work done, it also includes a giving a reasonable price..

Comments are closed.