translation-comoditization

La marchandisation de traduction rend le monde plus égale

translation-comoditizationToday, more and more people are getting an opportunity to get translations. The evolving technological solutions and the increasing number of translation service providers are making this development possible. Translation is transforming from luxury to commodity. Translation commoditization is a good thing because it reduces inequality.

Compétences linguistiques créer un accès aux connaissances dans différentes langues. La répartition inégale de l'information a divisé les peuples du monde. L'élite avec la plupart des ressources et des compétences linguistiques utilisés pour apprécier le privilège et la puissance. Déjà seulement les compagnies et les autres grandes entités dans les pays développés ont eu la chance d'utiliser les services de traduction. De nos jours, traduction est de plus en plus disponible aux masses partout.

La concurrence est rude et les nouveaux fournisseurs de services entrent dans les marchés de traduction globale tout le temps. En raison de la concurrence croissante, les prix moyens ont diminué. Des traducteurs professionnels qui ont l'habitude d'avoir des positions stables sur le marché peuvent se sentir incertitude et malaise, quand de nouveaux concurrents changent l'image globale du prix de l'industrie. Cependant, la cause et l'effet va à l'autre beaucoup trop.

C'est une nouvelle situation d'avoir des options de traduction disponibles dans chaque catégorie de prix. Cela apporte plus de potentiel client aux marchés. Il n'ya pas assez des traducteurs professionnels pour servir tout le monde. C'est pourquoi les technologies langagières sont aussi un sujet d'actualité en ce moment. Technologies langagières permettent de produire une plus grande quantité de traductions qu'avant. L'augmentation de la productivité provient de deux accru la production totale de l'industrie et de l'amélioration de la productivité personnelle lorsqu'un traducteur professionnel adopte une nouvelle pièce de la technologie à son processus de travail.

En raison de la banalisation de la traduction, les gens deviendront plus familiers avec le secteur de la traduction. The step from being an outsider to becoming a translation buyer gets smaller. Gens veulent obtenir leur part du pouvoir qui vient avec les informations, et si la demande de traductions va continuer à croître. En guise de conclusion, le gâteau entier devient plus grand et il y aura plus de partager à tous les fournisseurs de solutions de traduction.


Translate pdf filesVous avez un document PDF qui vous ne comprenez pas? Multilizer PDF Translator ne simplifient le texte complex mais qu'il peut convertir le document au 27 langues automatiquement. Commencer à vous traduire un fichier PDF tout de suite.

6 Thoughts on"La marchandisation de traduction rend le monde plus égale”

  1. Je pense que ce post a une très bonne idée: banalisation comme un moyen d'avoir un monde plus juste.

    Propositions plus: Nous allons banaliser l'éducation, conseils juridiques, tout autour de la médecine (médecins, médicaments, traitements, chirurgie)… Je ne sais pas que plus d'idées seront affiche.

    Nous pourrions même finir par commoditizing téléchargements. Cela signifie que, au lieu de télécharger une version d'essai gratuite de Multilizer, Nous pouvons télécharger logicielle complète gratuite.

    Oui, un autre monde est possible.

  2. Merci pour le commentaire, Aurora!
    C'est une grande vision d'avoir un monde comme ça. Cependant, Nous entendons par banalisation que les gens auront plus d'options. Nous ne suggérons pas que tout devrait être gratuit. Gens ont besoin obtenir un vivant de leur travail dans le futur.

    Notre point principal est que l'obtention de quelque chose de traduire ou de comprendre l'information ne devrait pas être un oui/aucune question. Technologies langagières permettent d'avoir une grande variété d'options avec des prix différents, et chacun pourra choisir celle qui convient à leurs ressources. Bien sûr la qualité est en corrélation avec le prix mais la qualité n'est pas toujours nécessaire. De même, ceux qui ont besoin de la plus haute qualité choisira le meilleur professionnel pour le travail dans le futur.

  3. J'ai toujours été intriguée par cette généralisation hâtive de la “jeu de la mondialisation”–les gens qui nous ont donné le plastique bon marché monstrueux Président qui frappent l'oeil et voies de fait dans le monde entier bon goût, peu importe le pays ou de la culture –qui “qualité n'est pas grave” en traduction. Ou, au moins, qu'il “parfois, n'est pas nécessaire”.
    Je suppose que, tout comme “la beauté est dans l'oeil du spectateur”, Cela dépend entièrement de votre définition de “qualité”.
    L'erreur, à mon avis, C'est de croire que la qualité est simplement de l'utilisation de “belle langue” et ne s'applique qu'à la littérature fine. Le fait est que, comme dans tout autre effort vaut la peine, la qualité est de faire les choses! Et que signifie faire les choses?
    A. D'abord, bien comprendre le texte source et reproduisant le sens précis, construction et vous inscrire dans la langue cible–quelque chose que rarement ou seulement au hasard se passe dans ta ou quand les inexperts sont appelés à fournir une traduction.
    B. Fournir un texte qui sera entièrement compris dans la langue cible. Cela signifie offrir une traduction qui est tout à fait reconnaissable, familier, explicite et incontestable. Essayez d'installer ou mise en place d'un nouvel appareil en suivant un “Gang-traduit” ou manuel traduit qui vient à vous de, dire, Chinois sans jamais avoir traversé profesional ou mains humaines et votre frustration affolante se révélera à vous pourquoi dire que “qualité n'est parfois pas nécessaire” simplement un sophisme repose sur “économe” wishful thinking.

  4. Merci de partager votre avis, Dan. Vous l'avez droit; l'exactitude de la traduction est important. Mais s'il vous plaît avis que nous avons dit que “la meilleure qualité n'est pas toujours nécessaire”. Par “meilleure qualité” Nous entendons “belle langue”. Si nous mettons “qualité” dans un continuum il est certainement un point ou un niveau qui est nécessaire pour être en mesure de comprendre le message.

    Malheureusement, pas tous les gens dans le monde peuvent se permettre d'acheter une traduction professionnelle quand ils veulent comprendre un élément de texte étranger. Et traducteurs professionnels ne peuvent pas se permettre de diminuer les prix. De plus,, pas tous les gens veulent ou peuvent rechercher traducteur professionnel lorsqu'ils ont une ou deux phrases (comme un tweet ou par courriel) la traduction et la traduction doit être fait tout de suite.

    C'est la responsabilité de la société pour s'assurer que leurs clients comprennent leurs manuels. Sociétés ne doivent jamais distribuer un manuel traduit sans une bonne relecture. Mais point de vue du client, Si il n'est pas un manuel disponible dans sa langue ou dans une langue qu'il parle, traduction automatique pourrait aider à obtenir l'idée principale. Bien sûr MT n'aide pas toujours, surtout si le produit et son manuel sont très complexes. Mais si c'est la seule option pour le client, Je ne vois pas pourquoi il ne devrait pas essayer au moins.

  5. « La traduction est un utilitaire », « la traduction est une marchandise », « la traduction est... » Les gens semblent avoir besoin de redéfinir ce que la traduction est pour le moment, qui je suppose est naturel dans une époque de changement rapide. En fait, le point de traduction n'a pas changé: La traduction est un service professionnel qui aide les gens à communiquer.
    Maintenant, en commun avec nombreux services professionnels, Il existe différents niveaux de service. Il est entièrement automatisé, où vous savez qu'un certain pourcentage de la production sera ordures. C'est un risque que vous prenez – êtes-vous prêt pour chaque mot dans quatre de se tromper, peut-être vous envoi dans complètement dans la mauvaise direction? Il y a semi-automatisé, allégée post-édition, où tout sera fondamentalement ok, mais vous n'allez jamais à gagner un Pulitzer prix, et probablement pas tous les clients soit. Et enfin, il est bon, une traduction professionnelle solide de la sorte que MITIs (Membres de l'Institut de traduction & Interprétation) et produire des traducteurs ATA jour après, jour-out. Toutes ces possibilités nécessitent un niveau de service professionnel, dans la construction et de tuning d'un moteur de traduction automatique, par le biais de post-édition à un cycle complet traduction-édition-correction.
    Vous presque, mais pas tout à fait, adressée à la capacité de la marchandisation (dans la définition de) pour amener la traduction dans les collectivités qui ne peuvent se permettre un service professionnel. Mais sûrement, nous savons que si nous donnez un poisson à un homme nous mangera un jour, Si nous lui apprendre à pêcher nous lui donnons la possibilité de se nourrir pendant une durée de vie? Il incombe à chacun d'entre nous dans le « premier monde » de traduction pour travailler à l'appui de ces communautés, apportant des compétences de traduction professionnelle pour les langues qui n'ont pas bénéficié d'eux avant, en leur donnant les outils pour accomplir un travail professionnel et le sens de le faire professionnellement.
    Enfin, sur la marchandisation. Votre description n'est pas vraiment de banalisation. La marchandisation est ce que j'ai vécu cette semaine, Quand un client m'a envoyé un fichier (un article de journal académique) qui a été fortement marqué avec surligneur jaune. Les parties jaunes étaient le texte allemand que j'ai été à traduire. Entre les deux étaient des sections déjà en anglais. Mais ces sections varies en taille de paragraphes à des mots individuels dans autrement mis en évidence que les phrases. La plupart du temps, ces mots ont été terminologie technique, mais chaque maintenant et puis, Il y avait un « ils » ou un « it » que j'avais été demandé de ne pas toucher et dit qui ne serait pas payé. C'est ce que la marchandisation de la traduction signifie, et c'est la perception que traduction « est tout à propos de l'expression » qui assure la promotion. Traduction n'est pas sur les mots. Il n'a jamais été. La traduction est de donner un sens au monde et de communication. Les mots sont un moyen vers une fin, plutôt que de la fin en soi. Il faut souvent un expert professionnel pour comprendre un sujet complexe. C'est pourquoi traduction est... un service professionnel.

  6. « Traduction n'est pas une marchandise. C'est important, donc nous le dirai encore: Traduction n'est pas une marchandise.
    S'il s'agissait, il suffirait de dire: « Il faut une traduction? Sortir et demander traduction plusieurs fournisseurs de services combien ils chargent par mot et choisissent le chiffre le plus bas. » Fin de l'histoire.
    Mais ce n'est pas comme ça. Par exemple, évidemment, vous devrez spécifier la langue dans laquelle vous voulez que votre texte traduit en (par exemple. Français, allemand ou japonais).
    Et tout comme la couleur et les prix ne sont pas les seuls facteurs dans l'achat d'une voiture, vous aurez envie de tenir compte des autres critères ici, trop.
    Par exemple:
    – Le type de document en cours de traduction.
    – L'expertise de l'objet requis par la personne qui effectue la traduction.
    – Les lecteurs prévues.
    – Le but de la traduction.
    – Les variations régionales de la langue cible.
    Pris ensemble, ceux-ci et autres facteurs composent les spécifications de votre traduction.
    C'est la grande variété de caractéristiques possibles pour un projet de traduction qui rend la traduction — tout comme les enregistrements de la musique — une marchandise-non.
    Un texte unique source a des dizaines, centaines, milliers de traductions possibles. Quel est le bon pour vous? Liste de vos priorités — établissant les spécifications — vous aidera à obtenir ce dont vous avez besoin.
    -> Une vérité universelle?
    La variété des projets de traduction est redoutable. Tellement rébarbatif, En fait, que même les experts se demandent parfois si il y a une seule pièce de conseils qui s'applique à tous les projets de traduction.”

    Source: Chris Durban, Traduction, Achat d'une marchandise-non – Comment les normes de traduction peuvent aider les acheteurs & vendeurs, American translators Association (recommandé!)

    http://www.atanet.org/docs/translation_buying_guide.pdf

Les commentaires sont fermés.

translation-comoditization

Translation Commoditization Makes the World More Equal

translation-comoditizationToday, more and more people are getting an opportunity to get translations. The evolving technological solutions and the increasing number of translation service providers are making this development possible. Translation is transforming from luxury to commodity. Translation commoditization is a good thing because it reduces inequality.

Language skills create an access to knowledge in different languages. The uneven distribution of information has divided people around the world. The elite with most resources and language skills used to enjoy the privilege and the power. Previously only companies and other big entities in the developed countries have had a chance to use translation services. Nowadays, translation is becoming more available to the masses everywhere.

The competition is harsh and new service providers are entering the global translation markets all the time. Due to the increasing competition, average prices have decreased. Professional translators who used to have steady positions in the market may feel uncertainty and discomfort when new competitors are changing the overall price image of the industry. However, the cause and effect goes to the other way too.

It is a new situation to have translation options available in every price category. This brings more potential customer to the markets. There aren’t enough professional translators to serve everyone. This is why language technologies are such a hot topic right now. Language technologies make it possible to produce a bigger amount of translations than before. The productivity increase comes from both the increased total production of the industry and the improved personal productivity when a professional translator adopts a new piece of technology to his working processes.

Due to the translation commoditization, people will become more familiar with the translation industry. The step from being an outsider to becoming a translation buyer gets smaller. People want to get their share of the power which comes with the information, and so the demand for translations will continue to grow. As a conclusion the whole cake becomes bigger and there will be more to share to all the translation solution providers.


Translate pdf filesDo you have a PDF document which you don’t understand? Multilizer PDF Translator won’t simplify the complex text but it can translate the document to 27 languages automatically. Start translating you PDFs right away.

6 thoughts on “Translation Commoditization Makes the World More Equal”

  1. I think this post has a very good idea: commoditization as a means of having a more fair world.

    More proposals: let’s commoditize education, legal counselling, everything around Medicine (doctors, drugs, treatments, surgery)… I am sure more ideas will appear.

    We may even end up commoditizing sofware. That means, instead of dowloading a free trial from Multilizer, we can dowload free complete sofware.

    Yes, a different world is possible.

  2. Thank you for the comment, Aurora!
    It is a great vision to have a world like that. However, by commoditization we mean that people will have more options. We don’t suggest that everything should be free. People need to get a living from their work also in the future.

    Our main point is that getting something translated or understanding information shouldn’t be a yes/no question. Language technologies make it possible to have a wide variety of options with different prices, and everyone can choose the one which suits their resources. Of course the quality correlates with the price but the best quality isn’t always necessary. Likewise, those who need the highest quality will choose the best professional for the job also in the future.

  3. I’ve always been intrigued by this hasty generalization of the “globalization set”–the folks who have given us the monstrous cheap plastic chairs that plague the eye and assault good taste worldwide, regardless of country or culture –that “quality doesn’t matter” in translation. Or, at least, that it “sometimes isn’t necessary”.
    I suppose, just as “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”, that depends entirely on your definition of “quality”.
    The error, to my mind, is to believe that quality is merely about the use of “beautiful language” and only applies to fine literature. The fact is that, as in any other worthwhile endeavor, quality is about getting it right! And what does getting it right mean?
    A. First and foremost, fully understanding the source text and reproducing the precise meaning, construction and register in the target language–something that seldom or only randomly happens in MT or when the inexpert are called upon to provide a translation.
    B. Providing a text that will be fully understood in the target language. This means delivering a translation that is entirely recognizable, familiar, self-explanatory and unquestionable. Try installing or setting up a new appliance by following a “gang-translated” or machine-translated manual that comes to you from, say, Chinese without ever having passed through profesional or human hands and your maddening frustration will prove to you why saying that “quality sometimes isn’t necessary” is simply a fallacy based on “thrifty” wishful-thinking.

  4. Thank you for sharing your opinion, Dan. You have it right; the correctness of the translation is important. But please notice that we said that “the best quality isn’t always necessary”. By “best quality” we mean “beautiful language”. If we put “quality” into to a continuum there certainly is a point or level that is needed to be able to understand the message.

    Unfortunately, not all people in the world can afford to buy a professional translation when they want to understand a piece of foreign text. And professional translators can’t afford to decrease prices. In addition, not all people want or can search for professional translator when they have a sentence or two (like a tweet or email) to translate and the translation needs to be done right away.

    It’s the company’s responsibility to make sure that their customers understand their manuals. Companies should never distribute a machine-translated manual without a proper proofreading. But from the customer’s point of view, if there isn’t a manual available in his language or in any language that he speaks, machine translation might help to get the main idea. Of course MT doesn’t always help, especially if the product and its manual are very complex. But if it’s the only option for the customer, I don’t see why he shouldn’t at least try it.

  5. “Translation is a utility”, “translation is a commodity”, “translation is…” People seem to need to redefine what translation is at the moment, which I suppose is natural in a time of rapid change. In fact, the point of translation hasn’t changed: Translation is a professional service that helps people communicate.
    Now, in common with many professional services, there are different levels of service. There’s fully automated, where you know that a given percentage of the output will be rubbish. That’s a risk you take – are you prepared for every word in four to be wrong, possibly sending you off in completely the wrong direction? Then there’s semi-automated, light-touch post editing, where everything will basically be ok, but you’re never going to win any Pulitzer prizes, and probably not any customers either. And finally there’s good, solid professional translation of the sort that MITIs (Members of the Institute of Translation & Interpreting) and ATA Certified Translators produce day-in, day-out. These all involve a level of professional service, from building and tuning a machine translation engine, through post-editing to a full translation-editing-proofreading cycle.
    You almost, but not quite, addressed the capability of commoditization (in your definition) to bring translation to communities that cannot afford a professional service. But surely we know that if we give a man a fish we feed him for a day, if we teach him to fish we give him the opportunity to feed himself for a lifetime? It’s incumbent on all of us in the “first world” of translation to work in support of those communities, bringing professional translation skills to languages that have not benefited from them before, giving them the tools to do a professional job and the acumen to do it professionally.
    Finally, on commoditization. Your description isn’t really of commoditization. Commoditization is what I experienced this week, when a customer sent me a file (an academic journal article) that was marked up heavily with yellow highlighter. The yellow portions were the German text that I was to translate. In between were sections already in English. But these sections ranged in size from paragraphs to individual words within otherwise highlighted sentences. Most of the time these words were technical terminology, but every now and then, there was a “they” or an “it” that I had been instructed not to touch and told that would not be paid for. This is what commoditization of translation means, and it is the perception that translation “is all about the words” that promotes it. Translation isn’t about words. It never has been. Translation is about making sense of the world and about communication. The words are a means to an end, rather than the end in itself. It frequently takes an expert professional to make sense of a complex subject. That’s why translation is… a professional service.

  6. “Translation is
not a commodity
. This is important, so we’ll say it again: Translation is not
a commodity.
    If it were, it would be enough to say: “You need a translation? Go out and ask several translation service providers how much they charge per word and choose the lowest figure.” End of story.
    But it’s not like that. For example, you’ll obviously need to specify which language you want your text translated into (e.g. French or German
or Japanese).
    And just as color and price
are not the only factors in buying a car, you’ll want to consider other criteria here, too.
    For example:

    – The type of document being translated.
    – The subject-matter expertise needed by the person doing
the translation.
    – The intended readers.
    – The purpose of the translation.
    – The regional variation of
the target language.
    Taken together, these and
other factors make up the specifications for your translation.
    It is the huge variety of possible specifications for a translation project that makes translation—just like music recordings—a non-commodity.
    A single source text has dozens, hundreds, thousands of possible translations. Which one is right for you? Listing your priorities— drawing up specifications—will help you get what you need.
    -> A universal truth?
    The sheer variety of translation projects is daunting. So daunting, in fact, that even experts sometimes wonder if there is any single piece of advice that applies to all translation projects.”

    Source: Chris Durban, Translation, Buying a non-commodity – How translation standards can help buyers & sellers, American translators Association (recommended!)

    http://www.atanet.org/docs/translation_buying_guide.pdf

Comments are closed.